Toronto FC

Canada Soccer announce details for 2022 Canadian Championship Final in Vancouver

The 2022 Canadian Championship Final is set to kick off on Tuesday 26 July in Vancouver as the journey to lift the Voyageurs Cup comes to an exciting conclusion.

This year's Final features two original clubs as they meet for the fifth time in the final round: Vancouver Whitecaps FC against Toronto FC. It also marks the first time since 2016 that the final match will be played in Vancouver at BC Place.

Vancouver Whitecaps FC have reached the Canadian Championship Final after going undefeated through three rounds in 2022. They won 2:0 at home over Winnipeg Valour FC, drew 1:1 with Cavalry FC before winning 5-3 on kicks from the penalty mark in Calgary, and then won 2:1 over York United FC in the Semi-finals at BC Place. Vancouver Whitecaps FC are looking to win the Canadian Championship for the first time since 2015.

Toronto FC have reached the Canadian Championship Final after going perfect through two rounds in 2022. Toronto won 2:1 away over HFX Wanderers FC in the Quarter-finals and then beat CF Montréal at home 4:0 in the Semi-finals at BMO Field. Toronto FC also recently won the delayed 2020 Canadian Championship Final in June after winning 5-4 on kicks from the penalty mark over Forge FC Hamilton. Toronto FC are the competition's all-time leaders with eight Canadian Championship titles.

Tickets will go on sale to the public at 3 p.m. PT through Whitecaps FC season ticket holders have tickets for the Canadian Championship Final included in their membership.

Canadian Championship Final

Tuesday 26 July

Vancouver Whitecaps FC v Toronto FC - 19.30 local at BC Place (22.30 ET / 19.30 PT)

All Canadian Championship matches will air on OneSoccer, available as a linear channel on Telus’s Optik TV (Channel 980) as well as online at, through the OneSoccer app and on the fuboTV Canada platform. Fans will find extended coverage for the Canadian Championship across Canada Soccer’s digital channels on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and YouTube featuring the hashtag #CanChamp.

Canada Soccer’s Canadian Championship, also known as the Battle of the North, is the nation’s highest men’s domestic competition featuring clubs from coast to coast across the country, notably professional teams in Major League Soccer and the Canadian Premier League as well as league winners in both League1 Ontario and Québec’s PLSQ (Première ligue de soccer du Québec). Winners of the 2022 Canadian Championship lift the Voyageurs Cup and qualify to the annual international competition, Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League. Winners of the Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League then qualify to the FIFA Club World Cup.

The Voyageurs Cup has been awarded to the Canadian Championship winner since 2008. Created by the Voyageurs Canadian Supporters group, the trophy represents Canadian fans’ commitment to the game in our country. At the completion of the competition, the tournament MVP is named as the George Gross Memorial Trophy Award winner. The reigning MVP is Sebastian Breza. The Young Canadian Player Award is awarded to the best Canadian player in the competition 21 years of age or under. The reigning Young Canadian is Jacob Shaffelburg. 

Canadian Championship Past Winners

2008: Impact de Montréal

2009: Toronto FC

2010: Toronto FC

2011: Toronto FC

2012: Toronto FC

2013: Impact de Montréal

2014: Impact de Montréal

2015: Vancouver Whitecaps FC 

2016: Toronto FC

2017: Toronto FC

2018: Toronto FC

2019: Impact de Montréal

2020: Toronto FC

2021: CF Montréal