2013 Orlando-TFCUnionMatch

Reds Bested By Rampant Union

Toronto FC was unable to build on its win at midweek at the Walt Disney World Pro Soccer Classic on Saturday, losing 3-0 to Philadelphia Union in the final match of Group A.

Philadelphia received goals from Antoine Hoppenot and Roger Torres in the first half before Matt Kassel made it 3-0 within six minutes into the second frame.

RELATED: Fran O'Leary | Taylor Morgan
RELATED: TFC 0-1 Crew | TFC 3-0 Orlando

Hoppenot put the Union ahead at the eighth, while Torres scored five minutes before intermission, both goals coming from some tidy individual work by the finishers.

The Reds pressed in the first half for an equalizer and at the 20th minute had a chance through Emery Welshman who beat his man on the left side. The winger passed up a chance to have a shot on goal and instead passed the ball inside to trialist Taylor Morgan at the top of the box, where the Englishman was stripped of possession before he could have a look at goal.

Down 2-0 just before half, Toronto made another attempt to get on the score sheet, this time trialist Darel Russell was denied in his pursuit of a long distance strike by the fingertips of goalkeeper Chase Harrison.

Kassel put the match out of reach early in the second half with a shot from outside the penalty area that made it 3-0 to the Union.

Toronto made wholesale changes inside the second half. One of the substitutions, Justin Braun, had a decent hit at goal 10 minutes from regulation, though Harrison was prepared to tip away another ambitious attempt.

Toronto finishes its three matches in Group A with one win and two losses. The Reds will learn of its opponent in next weekend’s Disney Classic finale once all of Saturday’s matches have concluded.


Joe Bendik; Richard Eckersley (Daniel Fabrizi 74’); Gale Agbossoumonde (Derrick Bassi 69’), Darren O’Dea (Danny Califf 69’); Darel Russell; Ashton Bennett (Reggie Lambe 65’), Jeremy Hall (Kyle Bekker 65’), Terry Dunfield (Henrik Robstad 65’), Emery Welshman (Andrew Wiedeman 65’); Luis Silva (Jonathan Beaulieu-Bourgault 74’), Taylor Morgan (Justin Braun 72’)