Monterrey CWC

CCL Winner Finishes Fifth

For the second straight year the CONCACAF Champions League winner finished fifth at the FIFA Club World Cup. In the 2011 version, it ended with Monterrey beating Esperance of Tunisia – the African champion – 3-2 on Wednesday in Japan.

The Mexicans conceded first at the 31st minute but two goals from Hiram Mier and Aldo De Nigris in the final six minutes of first half put them ahead 2-1 at intermission.

Monterrey took a 3-1 lead two minutes after the restart with Mier and De Nigris again involved, this time helping Jesus Zavala to put the Mexicans two goals clear.

RELATED: Barcelona beats Santos to win CWC
RELATED: Monterrey out of contention
RELATED: Santos' star Neymar lights up CWC

Zavala’s goal proved crucial, standing as the winner after the Tunisians fought back to make it 3-2 with a 76th minute penalty.

In the 2010 edition of this tournament CONCACAF was represented by Pachuca, which beat Al-Wahda 4-2 in penalties to claim fifth place after the teams played to a 2-2 draw in regulation and extra time. Inter Milan won the overall tournament marking the fourth straight year that the European (UEFA) representative took home Club World Cup glory.

This year Barcelona is the favourite to win, but Qatar’s Al-Sadd stands in the way of the European champion in the semifinals. The winner of Al-Sadd v. Barcelona on Thursday will take on Brazilian giant Santos, the South American representative in the final. All matches can be viewed on The Score Television Network.

Toronto FC could take part in the 2012 edition of this tournament, but it must first dispose of MLS league and cup champion Los Angeles Galaxy in the quarterfinals of the CONCACAF Champions League (March 7 & 14) to continue its quest.