Match Recap | Nashville SC 2-0 Toronto FC | May 15, 2024 

Score_TFC24_TW (4)

Toronto FC (6W-6L-1T, 19 points) dropped a 2-0 result to Nashville SC (3W-4L-5T, 14 points) at GEODIS Park in Nashville, Tennessee on Wednesday evening.

First Half:

Toronto FC made six changes from the weekend’s starting eleven against New York City FC with Luka Gavran, Aimé Mabika, Raoul Petretta, Alonso Coello, Kosi Thompson and Deandre Kerr coming in for Sean Johnson, Kevin Long, Federico Bernardeschi, Deybi Flores, Jonathan Osorio and Prince Owusu.

The Reds fashioned the best chance of a relatively cagey half in Tennessee, when Alonso Coello picked out Tyrese Spicer’s run, whose header across the penalty area was nearly met by the onrushing Sigurd Rosted in the 35th minute. With chances few and far between in the opening 45 minutes, the two teams remained goalless going into the half-time interval.


Second Half:

TFC began the second half on the front foot, with efforts from Tyrese Spicer, Deandre Kerr and Derrick Etienne Jr. testing Nashville’s defensive resolve early in the half.

In search of the night’s opening goal, acting head coach Jason deVos turned to the visitors’ bench for an attacking spark soon after, with Lorenzo Insigne, Deybi Flores, Kobe Franklin and debutant Charlie Sharp entering the match in the second half.

Nashville, however, took the lead against the run of play when a looping Walker Zimmerman header across goal was bundled home by substitute Shaq Moore at the far post in the 81st minute.

The Boys in Gold doubled their advantage in the 91st minute, when substitutes Tyler Boyd and Teal Bunbury combined in stoppage time with Bunbury scoring the second and final goal of the night for the hosts.

Next up, Toronto FC return home to host rivals CF Montréal in MLS regular season action on Saturday evening. Kick-off from the Canadian Classique at BMO Field in Toronto, Ontario is set for 7:30 p.m. ET and will be available to watch on MLS Season Pass on Apple TV globally.



NASHVILLE SC – Joe Willis; Josh Bauer, Walker Zimmerman (C), Jack Maher; Alex Muyl (Tah Anunga 66’), Dru Yearwood (Tyler Boyd 46’), Aníbal Godoy, Sean Davis (Shaq Moore 46’), Jacob Shaffelburg (Taylor Washington 60’); Sam Surridge (Teal Bunbury 88’), Hany Mukhtar

Substitutes Not Used: Elliot Panicco, Brent Kallman, Daniel Lovitz, Amar Sejdić

TORONTO FC – Luka Gavran; Sigurd Rosted, Aimé Mabika, Nicksoen Gomis; Tyrese Spicer (Kobe Franklin 76’), Matty Longstaff, Alonso Coello (Deybi Flores 62’), Kosi Thompson, Raoul Petretta (C); Deandre Kerr (Lorenzo Insigne 62’), Derrick Etienne Jr. (Charlie Sharp 76’)

Substitutes Not Used: Greg Ranjitsingh, Charlie Staniland, Cassius Mailula, Jesús Batiz


  • Charlie Sharp made his Toronto FC debut as a substitute in the 76th minute, becoming the eighth player to make his club debut during the 2024 season.
  • Aimé Mabika and Kosi Thompson made their first starts of the 2024 Major League Soccer season for Toronto FC.