Vanney CLB

Greg Vanney named 2017 CONCACAF Coach of the Year

Miami (Tuesday, December 19, 2017) – The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) announced today the winners in the remaining nine categories of the 2017 CONCACAF Awards. On Sunday, December 17, Morgan and Navas were announced as CONCACAF Female and Male Players of the year during the fourth edition of the Premios Univision Deportes. 

In an equally-weighted vote among Member Association women’s and men’s national team coaches/captains, media and fans, Morgan captured the award for the second consecutive time and third overall, while this is the second honor for Navas.

The winners in the other categories are: Goalkeepers of the Year – Keylor Navas (CRC) and Adrianna Franch (USA); Coaches of the Year – Greg Vanney (USA) and Eva Espejo (MEX); Referees of the Year – Cesar Ramos (MEX) and Lucila Venegas (MEX); Goal of the Year – Amaury Escoto (MEX), in the 85th minute of the match v. CD Guadalajara.  

For the second time, the CONCACAF Outstanding Performance Award was also presented by the Confederation to the team or individual that best exemplified excellence through performance, and in so doing helped to further elevate CONCACAF to the highest levels of the sport. This year’s Outstanding Performance Award went to the Panama Men's National Team. 

The Best XI squads were also selected, with United States, Costa Rica and Mexico placing a total of 10, 4 and 3 players respectively, on the squads. 

Last year's award winners can be found here.