Toronto FC

Nominees Announced for 2023 Year-End Awards

NEW YORK (Thursday, Oct. 5, 2023) – Highlighting the best players and coaches of the 2023 season, Major League Soccer today unveiled the list of individuals eligible for selection in the 2023 Year-End Awards voting. Each individual was nominated by their own club in recognition of their outstanding performance throughout the 2023 MLS regular season.

The winner in each category will be determined following a vote by journalists, club technical staff, and MLS players, with each group accounting for 33.3% of the total vote. Club technical staff and players may not vote for their own team’s nominees.

Voting will open on Tuesday, Oct. 10 and conclude on Monday, Oct. 23, following the close of the MLS regular season.

In addition to those awards determined by the journalists, technical staff and player vote, three additional categories include, MLS Golden Boot presented by Audi awarded to the player with the most goals at the close of the 2023 MLS regular season, as well as AT&T MLS Goal of the Year and MLS Save of the Year presented by Allstate that are determined by an online fan vote on Fan voting will open on Oct. 30 and close on Nov. 6.

CLICK HERE for more information about the nomination and voting process for the 2023 Year-End Awards.

2023 Year-End Award Categories & Nominees

CLICK HERE for a complete list of nominees in the following categories:

• Landon Donovan MLS Most Valuable Player

• Sigi Schmid MLS Coach of the Year

• MLS Best XI presented by Continental Tire

• Allstate MLS Goalkeeper of the Year

Nominated: Sean Johnson

• MLS Defender of the Year

Nominated: Kobe Franklin

• MLS Comeback Player of the Year

Nominated: Jonathan Osorio

• MLS Newcomer of the Year

Nominated: Alonso Coello

• MLS Young Player of the Year

Nominated: Kobe Franklin, Deandre Kerr 

• Audi Goals Drive Progress Impact Award presented by MLS WORKS

Nominated: Federico Bernardeschi

• MLS Referee of the Year

• MLS Assistant Referee of the Year