Match Recap: Toronto FC II vs. Orlando City B

Taintor vs. RIC

Toronto FC II lost a heartbreaker on Saturday night falling 2-1 to Orlando City B.

A quiet first half saw the only real dangerous chance from Orlando cleared out by Sal Bernal. Both goaltenders were barely tested in the half.

Early in the 2nd half Orlando City B executed a beautiful set piece that led to a great chance. However, Angelo Cavalluzzo made a tremendous stop to keep it 0-0.

The Lions would strike first. A streaking Michael Cox played a perfect cross to the far post where Lewis Neal was able to get his foot on it and direct the ball past an outstretched Cavalluzzo.

TFC II would pull even in the 90th when Aiden Daniels played a perfect cross to the far post where a diving Mitchell Taintor would direct the ball with his head past the Lions’ keeper. For Taintor it was his first goal of the season.

However, the tie was short lived as not 30 second later Cox would find some space in the Toronto box and slot home his eighth goal of the season.

Toronto FC II are back in action on Sunday August 14 when they play host to the Harrisburg City Islanders at the Ontario Soccer Centre. Kickoff is set for 7:30 PM. 

Scoring Summary

OCB – Lewis Neal 57’

TFC II – Mitchell Taintor 90’

OCB – Michael Cox 90’ +

Misconduct Summary

OCB – Thomas Redding 24’ (caution)

TFC II – Anthony Osorio 48’ (caution)

TFC II – Raheem Edwards 54’ (caution)

OCB – Kyle Anthony Callan McFadden 68’ (caution)=


Toronto FC II:     6-13-5   23pts.

Orlando City B:     8-6-7   31pts.  


Toronto FC II – Angelo Cavalluzzo; Mitchell Taintor, Skylar Thomas, Marko Maletic, Anthony Osorio; Chris Mannella ©, Brian James (Liam Fraser 60’), Luca Uccello; Sal Bernal (Aidan Daniels 66’), Shaan Hundal (Malik Johnson 83’), Raheem Edwards   

Substitutes Not Used: Nathan Ingham, Robert Boskovic, Martin Davis, Reshon Phillip

Orlando City B – Mark Ridgers; Tyler Turner, Thomas Redding (Kyle Anthony Callan McFadden 61’), Conor Donovan, Zachary Ellis-Hayden; Richmond Laryea (Antonio Matarazzo 72’), Devron Garcia (Pierre Da Silva 61’), Cristian Higuita, Lewis Neal ©; Keegan Smith (David Loera 72’), Michael Cox

Substitutes Not Used: Jake Fenlason, Andrew Ribeiro, Johnny Mendoza