Raheem Edwards vs. FC Montrela

Toronto FC II put in a gutsy and determined performance in front of 19,112 fans at Nippert Stadium in Cincinnati on Saturday night, and will be able to take positives from their performance in spite of the 2-1 loss.

Raheem Edwards took only four minutes to score his team-leading fifth goal of the season on a jaw-dropping solo effort.

Receiving the ball at the halfway line, Edwards looked up and saw the space that had been vacated by the Cincinnati full back. He drove towards goal with intent and purpose, cutting horizontally across the penalty box with enough verve to send two Cincinnati defenders tumbling before finishing into the opposite corner.

The Young Reds put in a disciplined shift for the rest of the first half with Edwards, Malik Johnson, and Shaan Hundal working hard up top and consistently posing a threat on the break.

FC Cincinnati scored two in quick succession to take the lead, but Jason Bent's players didn't let their heads drop, and played their way into the game as time wore on, crafting several good opportunities.

Toronto FC II will continue their two game road trip when they visit top of the table Louisville City FC on Tuesday evening. Be sure to watch the game on the livestream via tfc2.ca.

Scoring Summary

TFC II – Raheem Edwards 4’

FCC – Harrison Delbridge 61’ (Jimmy McLaughlin)

FCC – Eric Stevenson 62’ (Corben Bone)

Misconduct Summary

FCC – Sean Okoli 56’ (caution)


Toronto FC II:     3-8-3   12pts.

FC Cincinnati:     8-2-3   27pts.  


Toronto FC II – Quillan Roberts; Wesley Charpie (Clement Simonin 68’), Skylar Thomas ©, Mitch Taintor, Steven Furlano; Liam Fraser (Chris Mannella 71’), Brian James, Aidan Daniels (Luca Uccello 78’); Malik Johnson, Shaan Hundal (Ayo Akinola 80’), Raheem Edwards

Substitutes Not Used: Phil Di Bennardo, Anthony Osorio, Sal Bernal

FC Cincinnati – Mitch Hildebrandt; Pat McMahon (Derek Luke HT), Paul Nicholson, Harrison Delbridge, Tyler Polak; Kenney Walker, Corben Bone (Ross Tomaselli 89’), Andrew Wiedeman, Eric Stevenson (Antoine Hoppenot 64’), Jimmy McLaughlin; Sean Okoli (Omar Cummings 88’)

Substitutes Not Used: Dallas Jaye, Evane Lee, Luke Spencer