Match Recap: Toronto FC II at Rochester Rhinos

Toronto FC II fell at the hands of the Rochester Rhinos 2-0 in a Wednesday night clash at Capelli Sport Stadium.

The Young Reds were put down a man following a 26th-minute red card to Brandon Onkony for a denial of an obvious goal scoring opportunity.

TFC II held off a relentless Rhinos’ attack to see out the first half scoreless.

To begin the second half the Young Reds came out with a couple of chances. They earned back-to-back corners but could not capitalise.

The Rhinos finally broke down the Reds as Kenardo Forbes played in Stefan Defregger who sent home his first of the season past Mark Pais. The hosts added another on an own goal from TFC II’s Julian Dunn.

TFC II return to action this Saturday as they travel to the nation’s capital to take on Ottawa Fury FC. Kickoff is set for 7:00 PM at TD Place Stadium. This will be the third and final meeting between the two rivals this season. 

Scoring Summary

RCH – Stefan Defregger (Kenardo Forbes) 58’

RCH – Julian Dunn 76’ (OG)

Misconduct Summary

TFC II – Brandon Onkony (Ejection) 26’

RCH – Stefan Defregger (Caution) 59’

RCH – Antonio Correia (Caution) 90’ + 3’


Toronto FC II (W-L-D):  3-11-5  14pts.

Rochester Rhinos (W-L-D):  7-3-8  29pts. 

Team Stats:

Toronto FC II

Rochester Rhinos

Shots – 7

Shots – 16

Shots on Target – 2

Shots on Target – 4

Blocked Shots – 3

Blocked Shots – 2

Possession – 37.3%

Possession – 62.7%


Toronto FC II – Mark Pais; Julian Dunn, Mitchell Taintor ©, Brandon Onkony; Jordan McCrary, Brian James, Aidan Daniels, Ryan Telfer, Sergio Camargo (Dante Campbell 79’); Ricardo John (Aikim Andrews 71’), Shaan Hundal (Malik Johnson 31’)

Substitutes Not Used:  Angelo Cavalluzzo, Brandon Aubrey, Robert Boskovic, Liam Fraser

Rochester Rhinos – Daniel Lynd; Ryan James (Jordan Dover 74’), Todd Pratzner, Joseph Farrell, Ryan Felix, Raymond Lee; Stefan Defregger, Kenardo Forbes© (Wal Fall 67’), Brandon Beresford, Jalen Brown (Antonio Correia 81’); Darius Madison

Substitutes Not Used: Kyle Morton, Bradley Kamdem Fewo, Michael Garzi, Jochen Graf