Reds Open Reserve League With A Win

Photo: Kyle Bekker & Ashtone Morgan played 90 minutes in Reserve League opener.

Toronto FC beat FC Dallas 2-0 in the first Reserve League match for the Reds in 2013 on Saturday with goals from Mark Anthony Kaye and Ashton Bennett.

Kaye, a Kia Toronto FC Academy player, entered the match in the first half as a substitute for Emery Welshman, who left the pitch with an injury.  

Dallas had a chance to go ahead at the 19th minute when Kellyn Acosta crossed a dangerous ball into the area but it was cleared astutely by Doneil Henry before Bradlee Baladez could finish.

Kaye gave Toronto the 1-0 lead just before the intermission. His goal was helped by Justin Braun and fellow Academy player Manny Aparicio. Braun earlier helped spark a first team comeback against Dallas in a 2-2 draw at BMO Field, where he entered as a substitute and scored the first goal for Toronto.

At the restart teams exchanged early chances but confident play by respective goalkeepers – Stefan Frei for Toronto and his counterpart Chris Seitz – kept both teams at bay until the run of play changed drastically following a red card to London Woodberry.

The Dallas defender hacked down Aparicio while the Academy teenager was in full flight. A near-horror tackle was avoided and Aparicio was able to continue, while the referee sent Woodberry to the dressing room at the 66th minute.

Reds capitalized on the advantage five minutes from regulation. Taylor Morgan found Andrew Wiedeman in the box. The Toronto forward cut the ball to Bennett, who was able to beat Seitz to his left for the 2-0 final.

Toronto next plays in the Reserve League on April 27 versus New York Red Bulls at BMO Field.

Scoring Summary
Toronto - 44' Mark Anthony Kaye
Toronto - 85' Ashton Bennett

Misconduct Summary
Toronto - 62' Doneil Henry (caution)
Dallas - 66' London Woodberry (ejection)


Stefan Frei; Ryan Richter, Doneil Henry, Logan Emory, Ashtone Morgan; Taylor Morgan, Kyle Bekker, Manny Aparicio, Emory Welshman (Mark Anthony Kaye 25') (Ashton Bennett 56'); Andrew Wiedeman, Justin Braun
Substitutes not used: Quillan Roberts; Jevon Gayle, Chris Mannella, Michael Wagenknecht

Chris Seitz; London Woodberry, Christian De Luna, Alex Dominguez (Marco Carrizales 81'), Kellyn Acosta; T.J. Nelson, Bobby Warshaw, Fabian Castillo, Je Vaughn Watson, Victor Ulloa; Bradlee Baladez
Substitutes not used: Kyle Zobeck; Richard Sanchez, Marco Ortiz

Download The TFC App: Access Playoff Tickets Before General Public

Looking to secure access to Playoff tickets before the public? Download the Toronto FC Mobile app and log-in with your email address. From there we’ll send you a pre-sale code the morning of our on-sale.

Audi 2017 MLS Cup Playoffs

12 teams battle for MLS supremacy. Who will rise, who will fall? Don't miss the 2017 MLS Cup Playoffs, October 25th - December 9th on TSN & TVAS.