Stuart Neely

Neely Praises World Cup-Bound Reds

TORONTO - Director of Toronto FC Academy, Stuart Neely, was beaming with pride Tuesday afternoon when it was revealed that eight TFC players had been named to the Canada squad for the 2011 FIFA U-17 World Cup.

“We at Toronto FC are extremely proud of the players and their accomplishment,” said Neely. 

“We know how hard they work here and the competition within our team for spots, so we know they have earned this right to represent Canada on the world stage.”

RELATED: Toronto FC Has Eight Selected To World Cup

The eight players named to the 23-man roster are goalkeepers Quillan Roberts and Chad Bush; defenders Tyler Pasher and Parker Seymour; midfielders Omari Morris, Sergio Camargo, and Michael Petrasso; along with forward Jay Chapman.

Complementing the Toronto eight, Canada U-17 head coach, Sean Fleming, looked to Vancouver’s youth side for six players and drew another three from the Montreal Impact.

Neely said he speaks with Fleming “four to five times a month” and that makes the selection process easier for both parties. Neely and Toronto FC fully back Fleming and the national team.

“Sean is also doing this across the country. I am sure everyone is supportive of our national program and we wish them the very best of luck.”

Former Toronto FC Academy player Keven Aleman has been named to Fleming’s squad. The teenager did not sign an amateur contract with the BMO Field side to pursue opportunities in Europe. Aleman remains without a club.

Canada’s matches in Mexico – the host country – will begin on June 19 against Uruguay. The other two opponents in Canada’s group are England and Rwanda.